The Fr. Murphy’s Hurling and Football Club was formed at a meeting held on the 12th November 1958 at the Robert Peel Public House. The first officers of the Club were Thomas Quirke, Frank Sheehan and Larry Kehoe. The AGM was held one week later when committee members were elected.

The original idea in forming the club was for it to be a Wexford Men’s Hurling and Football Club to allow those exiled to keep in touch with their Wexford routes. It was not long before the Fr. Murphy’s were making their mark on the London Hurling scene, winning the Junior League and Championship in 1959, Intermediate League and Championship in 1960, progressing to Senior Level and winning the Senior League at the first attempt in 1961.

We welcome everyone into the club. Today we still wear the purple and gold of Wexford with pride and we are proud to boast that we have lads from all four Provinces of Ireland, as well as London born hurlers.